Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Websites usability checklist in 2018

September 22 2018 , Written by Lisa Groza

I've been thinking a lot recently about my procedure. Experience is a potent thing, but it is unusual that people attempt to map out what we know and really sit down.
I've decided to discuss this checklist though it's part of my compensated offerings. Several disclaimers: First, I do not claim this list is comprehensive or special. Jakob Nielsen has a fantastic 113-level checklist for instance, Homepage Usability, in his e-book. That is my way of arranging what I feel is essential while attempting to keep it manageable. My usage of conditions might vary from yours. I use "usability" in an extremely broad sense, and my use of "accessibility" isn't very industry standard. Do not like it? Write your own checklist ;) Lastly, an advance warning that this post is quite lengthy.
Basic Overview
The list is split into 4 roughly equal sections, (I) Accessibility, (II) Id, (III) Navigation, and (IV) Content. I'll rationalize and describe all of line things and the sections under, however you can download the checklist as a simple, 1-page PDF.
I try to keep it simple with 3 basic scores: (1) Green Check Always = Good/Pass, (2) Red Check = Needs work, but no disaster, (3) Red X = Bad/Fail. Not allpoints are necessarily applicable to any or all sites.

Font Size/Spacing Is Easy to Read

Opinions differ on the ideal dimension for text, but err on along side it of slightly too big. Poor readability increases frustration, and frustration prospects to site abandonment. Also, make positive your line-spacing is adequate - whitespace is a designer's finest friend.

Images Have Proper ALT Tags

Not only do sight-impaired visitors use alt-tags, but search engines require them to understand your pictures. This is especially critical when you use pictures such as for example menu items, for content that is key.

Navigation Labels Are Clear & Concise

Don't say "Communicate On The Web With Our Staff" when "Con Tact Us" will work. Your main navigation ought to be simple for mere mortals, and quick, to the point to to understand.

URLs Are Significant & User-friendly

This is a point of some debate, but significant keyword-centered URLs are broadly speaking excellent for both search engines and visitors. You don't have to reengineer a whole site to get new URLs, but do what you can to make them descriptive and pleasant.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post